My Obsession with Resident Evil 4

re4Okay, it is unseemly for a person entering middle age to become obsessed with a first-person shooter game that involves zombies, right?  I can’t help it, though.  It’s just a blast, and I am not a person who plays a lot of games any more; nor am I a person who traditionally likes first person shooters.  The thing is that Resident Evil 4 is just that good, particularly on the Wii.

It started when I bought a copy of it for my PC.  I don’t really remember the point of buying it, but I was probably in a crappy mood and wanted to shoot things.  I didn’t expect to like it much, but it was cheap, and I thought I would give it a try.

To put this into perspective, I absolutely hated Doom 3 on the PC.  Not only did I not hate Resident Evil 4, but I liked it so much I actually finished the game, something I rarely do.  What was better about it?  Easy and intuitive controls, for one; a fantastic storyline didn’t hurt either.  I also liked that the storyline was relatively linear, so that you could concentrate on shooting things and the only real strategy of the game, which is how to most efficiently use your money, healing supplies and ammunition.  And there were puzzles but none that were so difficult that I had to look up the solution online or just give up.  Mostly it was just a story with pure carnage pleasure.

But then I had a new idea. We had gotten a Wii for the children (and me), and I wondered what the game would be like on the Wii.  It was a whole new experience.  It’s everything that the PC had played like a shooting gallery, actually pointing your controller at the screen as though you are holding the gun.  What a blast.  Not only did I finish the game on the Wii, as well, but I’m playing again to get the big prize, the Infinite Rocket Launcher, which is one of the rewards for winning the game.

As the arms dealer on RE4 likes to say, “Stranger, stranger, now THAT’S a weapon!”

Seriously, you need this game.  You may not think that you do, but you do.

2 responses to “My Obsession with Resident Evil 4

  1. I could not agree with you more. A very excellent game in my opinion.

    PS if you loved this game, I strongly suggest Dead Space. It’s like RE4 crossed with Event Horizon 🙂

  2. Thanks, Gil, I’ll give it a try. And there’s a new Resident Evil coming out next month I’m going to get.

    By the way, I got my Infinite Rocket Launcher and now I’m getting killed all the time because I just can’t resist carrying it and trying to use it ; )

    I will probably play it one or two more times. I want to fully upgrade the Matilda and have one game where I just have everything at max…

Leave a Reply

