WordPress and Adsense

When I first started blogging, I started with a free WordPress blog just like this one, but something just annoyed the crap out of me.  I couldn’t monetize it with Google Adsense.  We were one of the most popular blogs on free WordPress, consistently making it into the top twenty visited blogs, and I was just sure that if only I could put up some ads that we’d all be rich.

Wrong.

So enamoured with our success, I moved us to our own domain and took a bit of a Google hit, but within another month or so, we were stronger than ever and knocking on the door of a top 100,000 Alexa ranking.  In fact, we were in it for a few weeks. 

So what did I get with Google Adsense?  Practically nothing.  Now you can argue that I didn’t use it properly, but then I did have the ad in a prominent place on the site, and we were getting several clicks a day.  I think our best day was 41 clicks.  What did we earn on the day when we got 41 clicks? $10.25.

Now I happen to know for a fact that a lot of people do better.  A blogger once sent me her screen print from Google Adsense that made me almost cry.  But she’s getting maybe 150,000 unique visitors a day and has her site set up so that you pretty much have to use her Google search function to find anything.

For most of us, that kind of traffic isn’t really reasonable, and we’d be kicked off our hosting long before we got there, anyway.  Even when we were hitting our stride, we were not anywhere near her level.

The point I’m trying to make here is that if you are new to blogging and on WordPress and have delusions of grandeur regarding your traffic and what you could be doing if you had some Adsense up, you probably aren’t right.  You need to be a top site, really, to make any useful money off of Adsense.

Leave a Reply

