Half-Assing a WordPress Theme…

So I had a sudden and emergency request to do a political blog.  I start to work on it, under the gun, and nothing is working correctly.  For speed purposes, I’d taken a free theme and was modifying it, and there was an issue somewhere that was causing me all sorts of problems, and I just couldn’t find the issue.  Then it occurred to me.  It was a very specific design, with a certain number of posts here, a certain number there, etc., so I suddenly decided to do something I have never done before.  Cheat by using absolute positioning instead of relative positioning.

Naturally, that comes at a price.  Once you’ve absolutely positioned something in an area, you can no longer float anything in that direction because it ignores items that have been positioned absolutely.  And that doesn’t just bust up a main content area, it also means that on the front page, I have to create a new class for the footer and position it properly, too, and if they ever completely fill up their sidebar and go beyond the footer’s position, well, then I got some ‘splaining to do.

Ah, well, at least it’s pretty.  I’ll create the design from scratch on one of my sites using relative positioning and then upload it to their site when I get a chance.

Leave a Reply

